Images

Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18
  • Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18 Image 1 of 4
  • Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18 Image 2 of 4
  • Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18 Image 3 of 4
  • Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18 Image 4 of 4

Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18

Details

CKSTROSMK18
Oster CKSTROSMK18 https://www.oster.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog/default/dw00b6ce6e/images/highres/CKSTROSMK18-1.jpg
0.00 N/A

Impress friends and family with the taste of savory smoked flavor when serving meats, poultry and fish.

Product Specs:

  • Dimensions: 23.03"L x 15.66"W x 11.81"H, Weight: 13lb.
  • Cord length: 24"
  • Watts: 1450W
See More...

Additional Information

From the #1 brand in roasters* and five star consumer rated**, the large, 16-quart capacity Oster® Smoker-Roaster Oven provides 2-way flexibility to prepare and serve delicious holiday turkey, ham, ribs and more! You can steam-roast tender, flavorful meals in the kitchen or kick up the flavor with outdoor smoking! The key to delicious smoked flavor is the combination of wood chips, low temperatures, steam and long cook time, which is just how this smoker is designed to cook. Use in the kitchen as a roaster to prepare traditional holiday turkey roasts for everyone around the table to enjoy. You can serve special occasion dinners with confidence knowing this roaster cooks meats perfectly, with moist, juicy, tender texture and flavor. Not only that, you'll save 30% more time for cooking and use 36% less energy than a traditional oven.ᶧ Versatile to do more, this countertop oven also bakes and slow cooks as well, to prepare a variety of different foods, from the first course to dessert!

  • Large capacity is ideal for preparing holiday dinners and for entertaining, providing extra cook space along with versatile cooking options for roasting, baking and slow cooking
  • Foods cook to moist, tender texture and delicious flavor
  • Convenient and versatile as an outdoor smoker
  • Variable temperature control dial sets roaster to cooking temperature of 150°F to 450°F
  • Doubles much needed oven space for holiday meals and entertaining
  • Saves 30% more time and uses 36% less energy than a traditional oven
  • Contains removable pockets to hold wood chips for outdoor smoking
  • Includes removable enamel-on-steel roasting pan for fast, even heat distribution and easy clean-up; plus steel roasting rack
  • Exterior Dimensions: Length: 23.30", Height: 10.90", Width: 15.60", Weight: 13.00 lbs
  • Interior Dimensions: Length: 17.34", Height: 5.69", Width: 11.53"

*Based on NPD data for the last 12 months ending March 2016. **Reviews are based on the Oster® roaster products per Clarabridge reporting ending March 2016. †Based on average time and energy savings when using a roaster vs. a conventional oven.

Oster® 16-Quart Smoker Roaster Oven, Red, CKSTROSMK18 is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works great but... I've had my roaster for two years now but I've only used it a hand full of times to smoke some turkeys and a pork roast. This year I noticed it didn't seem to be producing as much smoke and found one corner isn't getting hot enough to start the chips smoking. I contacted customer service to see if there's any way to get this fixed or if I'm going to be stuck with only one corner working. Other than that issue, I love this roaster. I'll raise the start rating to a five if I can get it fixed.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Bought one to do som small item smoking. (Ribs,chicken, brisket) fantastic small smoker! Easy to use and clean. Was worried about too little smoke but it produces more than enough. The wood chips even get some glowing embers while on 275! Much better than I expected.
Date published: 2015-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile smoker roaster This roaster is amazing. It works much better than expected. The smoker function really imparts a nice smoked flavor into meats, mushrooms, etc... I also used it to mane a bundt cake that cooked perfectly. I think the cake was more evenly cooked than if I had used my oven. The only thing that I don't love about the smoker is that it can't be used inside, even as a roaster the instructions say to use it outside. I wish it could be used indoors when not smoking items. Although I was given this machine as a sample to review I definitely love its versatility and am happy to own this particular smoker roaster.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Smoker I bought 2 of these a year ago for my daughter and I. We use it all the time to smoke our food. WE LOVE IT! Have not had any problems whatsoever. The ONLY thing that we do not like is the short cord. We have to use an extension cord.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smoker and roaster! I first tried this product to smoke a smaller ham and it turned out absolutely delicious! This is the first smoker product that I own and I'm very impressed with the ease of use as well as the flavor of the meat smoked in it. I also roasted a medium sized turkey and thought that turned out incredible as well. I'm very pleased with the size and find that it fits larger meats than I thought it would. This product is simple to use but effective. I am considering purchasing one as a gift for Christmas this year as I think my father would really enjoy the smoking capability. I received this product to review and have been recommending it to everyone I know ans honestly if the one I had stopped working, I wouldn't think twice about buying another one full price.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 stars!! Just tried it today, kept to simple foods to start, did hamburgers, baked potatoes and corn on the cob, the smoke flavor was unbelievably good, and the food moist, in fact better than food I've had on expensive smoker grills. I live at 5000' elevation, I increased the temp a little and monitored food, no problems. In the very dry desert SW, wild fires are always a consideration, no problem with this roaster, no open flame. Left the roaster to really get cold and tested the chip holders for any warmth before disposing. Planning on smoking a whole chicken next week. Highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for a beginners smoker I wanted to learn how to smoke eggs and meat but knew I wouldn't be doing it a lot, so this multi-functioning electric smoker at $49 was ideal. So far so good although one side of the smoker cooks/smokers A LOT faster/hotter than the other side so you need to be careful and/or turn whatever you are smoking!!!! I haven't had it long so I haven't done anything with it other than smoke eggs, cheese, and salmon. I haven't used it as a roaster yet.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Smoker Roaster Oven! love Love LOVE this thing! I've only used this a couple of times so far but overall, I give it a thumbs up. Bad: short cord - need to use a good 3-prong extension cord for easy placement in kitchen. You have to use this outside if you wish to use the smoker option. I understand why, but outside isn't as convenient for where I live and I have to do a weather check before starting :) (but it's worth it) Good: Food tastes phenomenal! This was my first time smoking any kind of meat so I was a bit nervous but the roast we smoked was perfect. Very nice flavor and easy to do. We'll definitely be using this a lot more. We also used the roaster option for a chicken. VERY tender and VERY tasty. Note: I did receive this product to review but that doesn't change the fact that I LOVE it
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Your Cooking will Rock! The Oster Smoker Roaster is an excellent investment! I have used mine for over 8 years roasting delicious Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Whole Chicken or pieces, Turkey, Beef and Pork Roasts and succulent Salmon filets! I love putting a large brisket in before bedtime and finding a juicy, perfectly cooked hunk of beef in the morning OMG! We just use small oak branch pieces we find in the yard, but I've also used purchased bags of Mesquite, Hickory and Apple chips. Try purchasing a large Salmon filet, rinsing it then placing it in the bottom of your roaster. Make a sauce of lemon, garlic and butter to pour over, cook about 25 - 30 minutes...yummy and You look like a Gourmet Chef!
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short Cord The cord on my smoker/roaster is a little longer than others in the reviews I read but 15 in is still not much. Mine came with chips to the enamel on the outside edge of the outside pan, not enough to impact the cooking so I will keep it. My small cake racks fit inside which is good as chicken wings might fall through the holes in the rack that came with it. I do wish it had a riser so more racks could be added to allow more items to be smoked at the same time. I think I will have the hubs rig something.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic performance there is not enough words to express my satisfaction with this product!!!!! The best size for appartment dwellers !! our pork ribs had the best smoked taste an smell--- reminded me of my youth 70 years ago
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1St time smoker, got me hooked I borrowed a friends smoker becuz i am not a good cook or very donesticated but had a 15# turkey i wanted to smoke. It was the easiest thing to do, even though i was afraid it would be raw or over cooked. Anyone can do this! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product Really like the smoker. For years I had used a vertical smoker with an electric coil at the bottom and racks above a pan for holding water. The wood was put at the bottom near the coils. It was getting nasty and happen to see the Oster unit which is much more compact. I've used it twice. First time to make pastrami out of corned beef. It worked fine and didn't take much time to clean. The second time, purchased a rib rack from Home Depot so that I could get a large quantity of ribs in the unit (about 10 lbs). Coated with spice mix, cut in section and was able to easily fit in smoker. Would be great if Oster had one specifically for their smoker. I did find that to have a lot of smoke it was necessary to heat up to 350 or so before the wood chips really smoked, then lowered to 225. After cooked, lowered temperature. to 175 for a few hours. For the meat to be tender it needs to be kept at lower temperature for some hours. Worked fine. Only complaint is that in literature there is no mention that the temperature needs to be raised in order to have more smoke. It will smoke somewhat at lower temperatures but not much-- really depends on personal preference. There could be a few more details on maximizing the smoky taste. It is much easier than the older type with electric coil and very easy to control the temperature since there is a temperature controller.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster Smoker Oven Did my first cooking with smoke. Excellent results and great tasting pork roast. Totally different taste and texture. So easy to use and to clean up after. Sure to get even better with use. And still have the roaster and slow cooker functions to try. Next is the smoked chicken. Only negative, the power light is not working on my unit. Not worth sending it back for that.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item for BBQ The Oster 16-Qt Smoker Roaster delivers great results. I picked up the Oster Smoker Roaster after doing some research on Smokers. This product is extremely easy to use and it delivers great results. Smoking time isn't nearly as long as I thought it would be and it uses less chips than my other Smoker. I use the Oster Smoker Roaster weekly and I haven't had any bad results yet.. There are many recipes online shared by users for the Smoker Roaster which make the opportunities seem endless.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Temperature control is wrong I just got it in the mail today and immediately started smoking a chicken. I have the temperature dial set at 200 and I stuck 2 different thermometers in the vent and the real temperature is 253. Its wayyyyy off, don't trust the dial. Also it would be nice if the kid had a better seal most of the smoke leaks around the lid and not thru the adjustable vent.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed reviews I used this a few times and I have mixed reviews. It took me awhile to figure out the instructions in the booklet and it also takes up a lot of room on your kitchen counter. I cooked a whole turkey with veggies that didn't take long to cook and also roast salmon. The food came out great after my second time using it. All in all, this will come in great handy for the holidays, but I would not suggest for weekly usage. Disclaimer: received this product as a sample to review.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our roaster! So easy to use! Have used ours for turkey, roasts, ribs. Family loved it.
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it, but I do have a concern I bought this to "learn" how to smoke meats and I am really loving it. However, I noticed one side of the wood chips did not burn like the other side. I cooked at 225 degrees. Does it have to be a certain temperature before both wood chip containers start to burn?
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Received today and tried...really like! I purchased my smoker/roaster directly from Oster (a lot cheaper than Amazon!) and received it today. I smoked a 3.5 lb. chicken for 2.5 hours and then closed the vent and adjusted the temp to 350° for about 15 minutes. The chicken was very good! Nice smoke flavor. I’m planning on trying a 10 lb. pork butt next. Ordinarily on my large smoker it takes 10 hours to smoke…not sure how long it will take in this smaller smoker though. I loved how easy it was to clean afterwards! I’d like to add that I had posted a question either on Oster (prior to me receiving my smoker/roaster), asking if I could add more wood chip mid cooking and to clarify that the wood chips would need to be dry (not soaked). The answer that I received was “Do not add wood chips to the roaster while it is in use or mid cooking. Yes, your chips must be dry before adding them.” -- I just want to clarify for others that on page 11 of the manual book included with it, it clearly states “Placing 1/3 cup of dry wood chips into each of the wood chip bins is good for about 1 hour of smoking. Proceed to refill wood chip bins for longer smoke times.” So if anyone else is interested, YES you can add more wood chips for a smokier flavor. I’m giving it a 4 star because while the unit itself is nice and sturdy, the actual lid feels like cheap aluminum. Not as good of quality as the rest of the unit. Also the cord is extremely short. The cord really isn’t a big problem because all you need to do is use a really good 3-prong grounding extension cord.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic unique product no longer offered Easier cleaning, storage, and operation than the competition. There are no downsides to this. No digital gimmicks to fail, just a simple knob. Juices drip away to collect in lift out pan. Short cord makes storage easier and a 3 wire extension cord should be used anyway. I found hickory smoking a small turkey at 250f (15min/lb) with no water added to pan and turned up the last half hour for crisping to be ideal. Very juicy but not greasy. Tried to buy another for a friend but there are no more. Pity. Don't like yours? Put it on ebay and it will sell quickly.
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Smoker for the Money I love this product! My favorite thing to cook is smoked, brined trout and this smoker/roaster does a fantastic job. The secret is to use alder wood and brine the fish overnight. Cleanup is easy enough - if stuff is dried on, I soak the inner pan and rack in soapy water a bit. If the rack goes bad, you can get an expandable baker's rack that fits perfectly at the Bed and Bath Beyond store. I've smoked over 100 fish, beef, pork ribs, roasts, chickens, you name it. This smoker does a terrific job and is so convenient for a person or two... or a small family. Okay, the cord is too short but it's no big deal. It's usable and I don't need an extension cord. Why is it short? Because the thing draws a LOT of current, kind of like a space heater. I wouldn't recommend a very long extensions cord. Thanks Oster! I'm cooking up a batch of fish right now.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy! I cooked my first turkey on the roaster - it was beautifully brown, moist and tender! I am extremely happy and highly recommend this roster!
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rolling them off the Shelf I put one of these on my Christmas wish list and my brother in law got it for me. I then bought one for my son. I bought another for kicks and grins, had it shipped to my work location. When it arrived everyone tried to steal it from. Since then co-workers have bought 4 and the numbers are climbing. We even bought 1 to leave in our warehouse for those days we have lunch in house. Is there a bulk discount?
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little smoker The perfect smoker for a small family. Easy to operate. Spray inside lid with Pam for easy cleanup
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from it died I bought one of these a few months ago. It worked fine until recently. The temp control has gone totally haywire. When set at 300 degrees for example the internal temperature will vary wildly . When first started it heated to 370 then when up and down to 324 then see sawed up and down and finally settled to varying between 335 and 345. It simply no longer works.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Short cord! I wish I'd have read the reviews before purchasing, but didn't feel the need as I have never had issue with Oster products. The length of the cord for an appliance such as this, is ridiculous! I have limited cooking space and my roaster ovens (I have a few) in my laundry room. However, with the short length of the cord, this product is basically useless to me. To tell me to use an extension cord is unacceptable.
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting concept We have smoked a whole turkey, some northern pike, and jalapeno poppers. All turned out excellent! There isn't any mention in the instructions of what temperature should be used for smoking; we had to research that online. The baskets for the wood chips would be easier to deal with if they had handles. I like that an appliance this big can be used for multiple functions. We're very pleased with this appliance, and will be using it to try a number of different recipes. We received this product as a sample to review.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oster 16 Quart Electric Smoker I received this roaster a couple of weeks ago. I've used it just about every day. I absolutely love it. The appearance and taste of my meats have been awesome. I've experimented with different flavored wood chips and the taste is unbelievable. I've smoked chicken, ham, turkey , fish and have been so pleased with the outcome. It was easy to use straight out of the box. Easy to set up and clean up. I did receive this product as a sample to review and I am so pleased with this smoker.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does NOT come with the self-basting lid! I am very angry. The Smoker Roaster description says it comes with a self-basting lid, but it does NOT. This is a huge deal breaker for me and now I have commitments for Christmas dinner that are falling apart because of this.
Date published: 2017-12-21
  • y_2020, m_10, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_CKSTROSMK18, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_oster